Notable Winners at AMVCA 2024 (Full List)

Winners at AMVCA 2024

Here comes the Notable Winners at AMVCA 2024 on the Entertainment news for the Notable Winners at AMVCA 2024 as published by African2nice for Notable Winners at AMVCA 2024 Full List.

Top 10 Notable Winners at AMVCA 2024

A few days ago, the 10th edition of the Africa Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards (AMVCA) was held in Lagos, Nigeria. The award show, which celebrates excellent African films, had prominent actors and filmmakers in attendance. BB Sasore’s “Breath of Life” was the biggest winner of the night. Here are ten other notable winners from this year’s AMVCA:

1. Best Movie – Breath of Life

Amazon Prime Video’s first original film, “Breath of Life”, clinched the coveted Best Movie award. The film won over movies like “Funmilayo Ransom-Kuti”,  “Over The Bridge”, “Blood Vessel”, “A Tribe Called Judah”, “The Black Book”, and “Mami Wata”. “Breath of Life” was produced by Eku Edewor, Derin Adeyokunnu, and BB Sasore.

2. Industry Merit Award – Idowu Philip (Iya Rainbow) and Richard Mofe-Damijo (RMD)

Veteran actors, Idowu Philip and Richard Mofe-Damijo were honored with the AMVCA “Industry Merit Award”. The award is given to veteran actors or filmmakers who have contributed to the growth of the African film industry. Idowu and Damijo made their acting debut into the film industry in the 90s with “Yemi My Lover” and “Ripples”. Last year, Patience Ozokwor won the award.

3. Trailblazer Award – Chimezie Imo

AMVCA’s “Trailblazer Award” is given to any promising actor or filmmaker who has shown excellence in the past year. This year, rising star, Chimezie Imo was awarded with the coveted prize. Some of the notable films he featured in last year were “Breath of Life” and “Over the Bridge”.

4. Best Lead Actor – Wale Ojo

For his commendable role in BB Sasore’s “Breath of Life”, Nigerian actor, Wale Ojo, won this year’s Best Lead Actor award. he clinched the award over actors like Stan Nze, Marc Zinga, Gideon Okeke, David Ezekiel, Richard Mofe-Damijo, Gabriel Afolayan, and Adedimeji Lateef. This year, Ojo is set to play Wole Soyinka in the film, “The Man Died”.

5. Best Lead Actress – Kehinde Bankole

Nigerian actress, Kehinde Bankole, clinched the prestigious Best Lead Actress award for her role in the film “Adire”. Bankole made her debut in 2007 in Wale Adenuga’s “Everything it Takes”. Other actresses nominated in this category were Segilola Ogidan, Funke Akindele, Lucie Debay, Omowunmi Dada, Ireti Doyle, Adaobi Dibor, and Evelyne Ily.

6. Best Supporting Actor – Ademola Adedoyin

Once again, a actor from “Breath of Life” won in another category at the AMVCA. Nigerian actor, Ademola Adedoyin, won the Best Supporting Actor award. The actor made his screen debut in Kunle Afolayan’s “October 1”. Adedoyin won over other actors like Ropo Ewenle, Levi Chikere, Timini Egbuson, Alexx Ekubo, Ibrahim Yekini, and Gregory Ojefua.

7. Best Supporting Actress – Genoveva Umeh

After breaking into the film industry in EbonyLife’s “Blood Sisters”, Genoveva Umeh, has been on the rise. Now, the actress added another accolade to her career. Umeh won AMVCA’s Best Supporting Actress for her role as Anna in the film “Breath of Life”. Other nominated actresses in this category include Joke Silva, Fathia Balogun, Bimbo Akintola, Tana Adelana, Ejiro Onojaife, and Eliane Umuhire.

8. Best Indigenous Movie (West Africa) – Jagun Jagun

This year, Femi Adebayo’s “Jagun Jagun” won the Best Indigenous Movie (West Africa) at the 10th edition of the AMVCA. The category, which was voted by the fans, nominated films like Orisa, Mami Wata, Ijogbon, and Nana Akoto.

9. Best Director – BB Sasore

After making a statement with the film “God Calling”, Nigerian filmmaker, BB Sasore has won another award for his directing skills. Sasore won AMVCA’s Best Director award for his film, “Breath of Life”. AMVCA’s Best Director award is one the most anticipated award of the night and some of the directors that were nominated include Moses Inwang, Adebayo Tijani & Tope Adebayo, Johnscott Enah, C. J. Fiery Obasi, Kayode Kasum, and Tolu Ajayi.

10. Best Writing in a Movie – Tunde Babalola

For his work on Bolanle Austen-Peters’ Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti, Nigerian writer, Tunde Babalola won this year’s Best Writing in a Movie. Babalola had previously won Best Comedy Writer in a Movie and Best Drama Writer in 2015 for “The Meeting” and “October 1”. Other screenwriters nominated in this category were Tosin Otudeko, Adebayo Tijani, Anyanwu Sandra Adaora, Funke Ayotunde Akindele, Collins Okoh & Akinlabi Ishola, and CJ Obasi.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from African 2nice

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Share via
Copy link